We all use or have used recipes in the past and we all have unique ways to find them. Do you have a family favourite that has been passed down for generations? Do you love finding new ones by trawling through annotated cook books? Or are you like me? - I love using the internet to find exciting new recipes from around the world. There are so many people out there creating wonderful meals but how do you sort through, especially when they are published in so many different formats.

I live in a family of chefs and bakers so we use all of these methods when cooking. Our staples like Spaghetti Bolognaise or Chicken Risotto come from tried and tested handed down recipes which we love and have most weeks. They are the ultimate comfort foods that we have time and time again and when people come to visit they are always complementary.

When it comes to baking I am less confident when it comes to remembering recipes and choose to find new and delicious recipes from the incredibly creative Jane’s Patisserie - honestly spend 2 minutes on her instagram page and tell me you don’t want to make some of her delicious bakes! 

A screenshot of a bakery instagram page

We all use or have used recipes in the past and we all have unique ways to find them. Do you have a family favourite that has been passed down for generations? Do you love finding new ones by trawling through annotated cook books? Or are you like me? - I love using the internet to find exciting new recipes from around the world. There are so many people out there creating wonderful meals but how do you sort through, especially when they are published in so many different formats.

 I live in a family of chefs and bakers so we use all of these methods when cooking. Our staples like Spaghetti Bolognaise or Chicken Risotto come from tried and tested handed down recipes which we love and have most weeks. They are the ultimate comfort foods that we have time and time again and when people come to visit they are always complementary.

 There is nothing worse than spending HOURS on something which looks like it is going to be amazing for it to all go wrong or taste disgusting. Perhaps this is why I prefer searching for recipes online over physical recipe books as people review them and can also suggest things that worked or didn’t work for them. Shout out to those people who have tried these before me and let me know that margarine works better than butter!! Picking recipes is obviously personal preference and it is difficult to sometimes break away from those that you know and love. From my experience it is my parents and grandparents that are more likely to spend longer going through physical cook books in the hope of finding a recipe to use - whereas I would also use google first!!

 As mentioned before I love Jane’s Patisserie but I also think BBC Goodfood and lets not forget Jamie Oliver are great places to start when you want good, trusted recipes. 

 Maybe where you look depends on how much you enjoy cooking and food? Which do you prefer? Let me know what you think!